No Labels, No Drama, Right?

“I think my generation is venturing into some seriously uncharted waters, because while we’re hesitant to label relationships, we do participate in some deviation of them.
 
But by not calling someone, say, “my boyfriend,” he actually becomes something else, something indefinable. And what we have together becomes intangible. And if it’s intangible it can never end because officially there’s nothing to end. And if it never ends, there’s no real closure, no opportunity to move on.” 

4 thoughts on “No Labels, No Drama, Right?

  1. Sophia says:

    That’s why I believe in dating from your own age group, not younger men. Somehow older women have fallen into the insidious net of modern dating dictated by the habits of millenials who can’t comit to anything and can’t cope with the realities of the world and operate from the safety of a “no-risk taken, nothing can hurt me” mentality. All of a sudden women who want traditional courtship have to conform to new rules that don’t represent them. Is it a wonder why now getting a man your own age or older is now conserved a real “catch”? Don’t play the game of no-name/label relationships- it leads to nowhere.

    • I agree!!! Call me old-fashioned but I believe in the good old rules of man pursues woman, they DTR (define the relationship) and they enjoy one another’s company with the intentions of hopefully looking forward to marriage should the relationship head in that direction.

  2. Sophia says:

    Exactly! The biggest secret of the dating world that is only visible through discernment is the understanding, the wisdom of knowing that you can change the rules of the game but you can’t change the human nature of man and woman: for long term relationship men need a challenge, a woman who inspires them, motivates them. Someone they admire and feel lucky to have “gotten”. Anything else is for a good time. Women are making things too damn easy and let men get away with treating them horribly because they don’t want to be alone. PffftZ. Look how long Jacob worked for Rachel, whom he adored. That sentiment is still alive and well in 2017, I wish more women understood this. It would change their life.

    • AMEN! I am guilty of making it too easy because sometimes I feel like my biological clock is ticking down and I feel desperate to find someone before there aren’t any good ones left. You know that feeling when you go to the store and find the “bargain bin?” The only stuff in there is the discarded clothing no one wants because it has pit stains on it from someone who tried it on the changing room or there is a loose thread or a missing button. Sorry to compare men to clothes but I was just reading something I wrote back in college about how I imagined the only men that would be left when I was 30 was the 80% off clearance that the store was trying to get rid of. I’m 31 now but that’s besides the point. I’m not as cynical as I was then (in order to have a healthy, happy attitude I HAVE to be optimistic about my situation) but I’m still realistic. I’m still very careful about my choice and I refuse to make the same mistake again in mate selection just because I don’t want to be alone.

Leave a Reply

